If you wish to drive your vehicle legally, you must register it in Connecticut (CT) whether you have purchased it new or just moved to the state. It is essential to have valid auto insurance before registering your car with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.
If you move to a new state with a vehicle, you have 60 days to transfer your prior car registration to the Connecticut DMV.
To register the car in CT, it must first meet the state’s requirement for compliance. The applicant will be able to write your car in CT if you owe property tax payments, had your car registration privilege suspended, have unpaid parking tickets, and most importantly, your car does not comply with Connecticut emissions standards.
In this article, we have mentioned all requirements to register your car, how much it costs to register a car in CT, and the possibility to register it for someone else. So, keep reading.
Can I register a car for someone else in Connecticut?
Yes, you can register a car for someone else in CT, but there are some documents you will need to register it, especially if your name is not on the title.
If you want someone else to name in the title, bring their documents, signature from (TR-212a), proof of insurance, and payment. Then you can easily register the car without the owner in the office.
You can go instead of a family member or friend who cannot go to the DMV to register a new vehicle for some reason. You can enter a car on someone else behalf in some states if you have all the accurate documentation and the car owner’s signature on the correct forms.
Documents needed for the registration
Many people often ask what are essential documents they need to register their car in Connecticut. Documentation for car registration may vary on whether your vehicle has a lien, your title Is from a different state or Connecticut, or if your car is leased.
Here is a list of all the essential documents for the registration of a car in the CT:
- Certification title
- Application for registration
- Present registration
- If registration a used vehicle, bring a certificate of title
- Bill of sale
- Identification of the applicant like learner’s permit, ID Card, or driver license
Following are the steps you can take to register your car in CT:
- Check for outstanding issues
- Collect all your documentation such as proof of insurance, bill of sale, identification, payment information.
- Bring your car to an Emissions test center.
- Make an appointment at a DMV office to transfer your license and registration.
How much is it to register a car in CT?
Car registration fees in CT mainly depend on the type of car you own. Following are the standard registration fee that includes:
- $120 for three years (Passenger Car)
- $47 for one year (Commercial car – price varies depending on the weight of the car)
- $63 for three years (Motorcycle)
- $20 for three years (Snowmobile)
- $29 (Trailer for personal use)
- $57 for three years (Electronic car)
In some exceptional cases, you need to pay extra charges, such as:
- $10 for Federal Clean Air Act
- $5 for Greenhouse Gas Reduction. It is a one-time fee if you are registering a car with a certificate of Origin.
- $5 per year for Passport to Park fee
- $10 for Late fee
- $20 for the Emissions test fee
- $10 for VIN inspection fee
You can also visit and check the CT DMV website for a complete list of registration fees and additional charges.
Co-founder of AllAboutCareers, one of the top sites for graduates, students and school leavers websites. I studied at the University of Essex. This is my site I talk about finance and help with administrative processes in the USA.