fbpx

How to get an Alabama real estate license

If someone wants to get a license as a real estate salesperson (or realtor) in Alabama, he or she must know that this procedure requires time and effort, including a pre-license course and a state exam.

In this kind of job, the agent´s income is usually paid entirely from the sales commission, which is why it is essential that they develop the necessary skills to offer trust and persuade the property owners or potential buyers.

So, if you live in Alabama and are looking to get a real estate license, we will guide you through the requirements and steps to apply in this article.

Why should I get a license as a Real Estate broker?

A real estate salesperson’s job is to represent buyers and sellers in property deals, offering trust and helping at all times to each party to close the sale. There are many advantages in this branch of work, such as:

  • Managing your own working schedule.
  • Setting your own economics goals.
  • Being your own boss.
  • Advising your clients on how to sell their properties or buy new ones.

Main requirements

Qualification criteria

The requirements to get a real estate license may change depending on each state’s laws; however, some things are common. In Alabama, this is what you must fulfill:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or at least a permanent resident.
  • Have a high school degree (or its equivalent).
  • Be 19 years old or older.
  • The applicant must be an Alabama state resident; otherwise, you must complete the Consent to Jurisdiction Form. Click here to download it.

Alabama Consent to Jurisdiction for Nonresidents

  • Must not have been convicted for any crime involving moral turpitude (Criminal records are investigated)
  • The applicant must not have any real estate application or license rejected or revoked in the country for the last two years before applying to this license.
  • Must approve the courses and exams to get the license.

Real Estate Education

If you are eligible for an Alabama real estate license, you must now take and approve a sixty-hour education pre-license course. You can find some approved courses here.

The costs for this course may vary from $200 up to $600, and we strongly recommend you to take it online because it is a cheaper choice and you can also control your studying schedules in the most convenient way.

Alabama real estate agent license courses (1)

➡ READ ALSO: How to pay Alabama state taxes?

State exam

After taking the pre-license course, you have twelve months to take and pass the Alabama state exam; if you pass that period, the course has to be retaken. In addition, you must earn a score of 70% or higher to pass it.

AMP is the testing company for this case, and they even provide an online practice test on their website, which you can find here.

Real estate practice exam (1)

  • Once you are ready to take it, go to https://schedule.psiexams.com and select ‘Begin Scheduling.’
  • Then you have three choices titled ‘Everything You Need is Three Steps Away’ (category, type of program, and examination); you need to fill in the information, and at the end, they will provide you with a phone number to call and schedule the exam.

PSI schedule a real estate exam (1)

License application process

After approving the exam, you can now apply for the Alabama real estate license within 90 days from the day you took it; after that period, the exam score will be invalid.

  1. You must log in or create an account (in case you do not have one) at the following link: https://www.alabamainteractive.org/arecmenu/welcome.action.
  2. Pay the 150$ license fee.
  3. You must submit your fingerprints for the criminal records check and pay the fee to a legally authorized vendor; the most used is Gemalto. For additional information to complete this step successfully, click here.
  4. After completing the things above, you will receive an email with your approval and further information.
  5. And that is it! You will be ready to activate your license and work as a realtor in Alabama.
  6. On the other hand, the applicant must take a 30 hours post-license real estate training in Alabama in the first 12 months after getting the license.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment