fbpx

How to get a driver’s license in Alabama

If you live in Alabama and you have a car, you need a driver’s license to be legally on the roads. According to the state regulations, the minimum age to drive is 15 years old; first, you will have to apply for a Learner License, and then you can get a Full License.

You can get either of them in the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA), specifically contacting the Driver License Division.

In this article, we will show you the types of licenses, the requirements, and the process to get yours.

Types of licenses according to the vehicle

Class D

This is the most common for vehicles of daily-use, and it is mostly for private cars.

Class A and B

Also known as “Commercial Driver Licenses” or CDL; these are issued only for heavyweight vehicles. Each letter corresponds to the maximum gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) allowed to tow:

  • A: 26,001 pounds or more. If there is another car being towed, it should exceed 10,000 pounds.
  • B: 26,001 pounds or more. If there is another car being towed, it should not exceed 10,000 pounds.

Class C

It is also for heavyweight vehicles, but specifically when carrying 16 passengers or more, or using a “hazardous material” placard.

Class M and V

It is designed for drivers with motorcycles and any of its variants.

READ ALSO: How to beat a traffic ticket 10 proven methods.

Types of licenses according to your age

General requirements include passing a written knowledge test, getting a learner license, and taking a driving skills test. However, the process might be different depending on your age.

Learner License

This one is generally for first-time teenagers, age 15 and older, who will be allowed to drive under the supervision of a person who must be at least 21 years old with a Full License.

This is the first step if you have never driven before.

Requirements and process:

1. Application: There are not online application forms, so you will have to apply in person in a Driver License Office. Click here to locate the nearest from you.

alabama DMV office locator

2. Appointment: We recommend that you schedule an appointment online at least 48 hours before your preferred date.

alabama drivers license schedule appointment

3. Documentation: Brind your US birth certificate or resident alien card, Social Security card, proof of school enrollment or graduation certificate, two proofs of Principal Residence.

4. Vision test: You need to have a 20/40 uncorrected vision score.

5. Knowledge test: You can take it in the office, and you have to pay a fee of $5 (in cash or money order, no checks are acceptable).

6. License fee: Pay $36.25 if you pass the test (in cash or money order, no checks are acceptable).

7. Receive the license: You will get it in your mail in 15 business days, and it lasts 4 years.

Restricted License

In Alabama, this license is for people of 16 years or older that already hold a Learner License. It allows to drive unsupervised under certain conditions:

  • You cannot have more than one person in the car other than your parent, legal guardian, or family member.
  • You cannot drive between 12 pm, and 6 am, unless a parent or legal guardian is present.

Requirements and process:

1. Have an instruction permit for six months (at least).

2. Driving practice: You must provide a verification form, issued by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) and signed by a parent, grandparent, or legal guardian. This will certify that you have had at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice.

3. Permission: Have your parents, grandparents, or legal guardian sign the permit to drive unsupervised.

alabama drivers license form

4. Road skills exam: You can go and take it at any time in a Driver License Office, but we recommend that you schedule an appointment first. If you are younger than 17, a parent or legal guardian must be with you.

5. Documentation: Bring two forms of identification (one of them from the primary list and including your photograph), or three forms of identification (from the primary list but without photograph); Social Security card; proof of school enrollment or graduation certificate.

alabama drivers license primary documents

6. Vehicle: Bring your car in safe operating conditions, and a proof of insurance.

7. License fee: If you had a Learner License, you do not have to pay anything; if it is your first license, you will have to pay $36.25 if you pass the exam (in cash or money order, no checks are acceptable).

8. Receive the license: You will get it in your mail in 30 business days, and it lasts 4 years.

Full (Adult) License

This one is for people of 17 years old or over. Also, if it is your first time requesting a driver’s license in Alabama, you can skip the Learner License and apply directly to get the Full (Adult) License.

Requirements and process:

1. Application: There are not online application forms, so you will have to apply in person in a Driver License Office. Click here to locate the nearest from you.

Alabama DMV office locator

2. Appointment: We recommend that you schedule an appointment online at least 48 hours before your preferred date.

alabama drivers license schedule appointment

3. Documentation: Bring two forms of identification (one of them from the primary list and including your photograph), or three forms of identification (from the primary list but without photograph); Social Security card; proof of school enrollment or graduation certificate.

primary documents to request the license

4. Vision test: You need to have a 20/40 uncorrected vision score.

5. Knowledge test: You can take it in the office, and you have to pay a fee of $5 (in cash or money order, no checks are acceptable).

6. Driving test: You will have to take it in your car, so be sure it has safe operating conditions, and bring a proof of insurance. You can try only one time per day.

7. License fee: Pay $36.25 if you pass the test (in cash or money order, no checks are acceptable).

8. Receive the license: You will get it in your mail in 30 business days.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment